- Before you start
- Reviewing your applicants
- Managing your applicants
Before you start
Please read Introduction to Deputy Hire for information on how to set up Deputy Hire for your organisation.
Reviewing your applicants
Note: if you enabled notifications then you will also receive an email every time someone submits an application.
There are various filters you can apply to help you review your applicants.
You can filter job applicants by Deputy locations:
You can filter applicants by Job listing title:
You can filter job applicants by employment type and their working rights status.
Managing your applicants
When you click on a job applicant on the Applicants page, their candidate video response will automatically begin to play and you can view the details of their job application including their:
- contact details
- working rights
- the answers to their screening questions
Each manager reviewing the application can make notes on each job application by typing in the Notes field and clicking Add.
Note: Under applicable privacy laws, applicants may have the right to access notes made about them.
If you are happy to progress a job application to the next stage you can click on Longlist or Move to > Longlisted.
Applicants are NOT informed when they have been longlisted.
The applicant will now appear in the Longlisted category on the Applicants page.
From your longlist of job applicants, you can then further shortlist applicants by clicking on Shortlist or Move to > Shortlisted.
When you shortlist an applicant you have the option to send a customised, short text message to them. You can edit the content of this text message as required. If you would prefer not to send the text message you can toggle this option to OFF before you click Shortlist applicant.
When you are ready to move to the interviewing stage you can schedule an interview. Read Manage your interviews in Deputy Hire for more information on scheduling interviews.
If you have several managers involved in the recruiting process you might like to mark a candidate as Contacted once you have been in touch with them so that everyone else is aware that you have contacted them and to avoid double handling or miscommunication.
If you have contacted an applicant already, you can update this in their application by clicking Contact (for a shortlisted applicant) or by clicking Move to > Contacted for candidates at other points the in recruitment process.
Don't forget that each manager can also add the own notes to each application as the process progresses as well.
If you know you've found the person that you want to come and join your team, you can make them an offer!
In their job application, click on Offer job or Move to > Offer.
You then have the option to customise a short text message to let them know you would like to offer them the job and click Send offer.
Note: if you toggle this setting to OFF the applicant will not be sent a text message but their status will be marked as Offer on the Applicant page. You would then need to inform them of the offer by another method.
Once your new hire has accepted the job offer you can click on Hire or Moved to > Hired.
You then have the option to customise a short text message to let them know they have been hired when you click Hire applicant.
Note: if you toggle this setting to OFF the applicant will not be sent a text message but their status will be marked as Hired on the Applicant page. You would then need to inform them by another method, that they have been hired.
Once they have been marked as Hired you will then be presented with an option to invite your new hire to self-onboard by clicking Onboard team member or you can add their details to Deputy yourself by clicking Add team member. What's the difference?
If you believe a job applicant is not suitable for the position they have applied for you can mark them as Not Suitable and they can be informed they were not successful.
In their job application, click on Not suitable or Move to > Not suitable.
You can customise a message to send to them via text message to explain that their job application was unsuccessful.
Note: toggle this setting to OFF if you would prefer not to send them a text message when you mark them as Not Suitable.
Click Archive applicant to send the text message (if toggled ON) and move the application to your archived application category.