Archiving and unarchiving team members
This article shows you how to archive team members, and how to unarchive team members if they return.
Before you read:
Target audience: This article is for System Administrators and Location Managers. Location Managers can only archive team members who work at a location they manage.
This article covers
What archiving a team member does
If a team member stops working for your organisation (for example, if they resign or you terminate their employment), you can archive their team member account in your organisation.
Archiving won't delete the team member, but it does prevent them from accessing your organisation in Deputy on any device. The team member's historical information such as past timesheets and schedules will be retained.
You can still view any archived team member's information in their profile by clicking on their name on the People page.
If you need to you can also unarchive an archived team member or permanently delete their account.
Note: once you archive a team member they are no longer counted as a user in Deputy (in the following month) for billing purposes.
What to consider before you archive a team member
Timesheets
Before archiving a team member, you must approve or discard any outstanding past timesheets.
Upcoming shifts
If the team member has upcoming shifts, you don't need to remove them from the schedule before archiving. However, when you archive the team member, Deputy will ask you how you want to handle their upcoming shifts.
To resolve upcoming shifts, you can choose to:
- Make shifts empty: Remove the team member from the shifts and leave them unassigned.
- Make shifts open: Remove the team member from the shifts and make them available for other team members to pick up.
- Delete shifts: Remove the shifts from the schedule.
How to archive team members
After removing the team member from future schedules and resolving past timesheets, open the People page.
Scroll down to the team member you wish to archive, then click ... options button on the right. Select Archive Team member. Or you can archive the team member from their employee profile in the Personal section.
If the team member is OK to archive you will receive a message letting you know what will happen when you archive. Click on Archive Team members to archive.
If you have not removed the team member's shifts from the schedule or approved or discarded their timesheets before attempting to archive, you will get a warning such as displayed here. These tasks will need to be resolved before you can archive the team member.
How to unarchive team members
To unarchive a team member, go to the People page. Click on the Filters drop-down menu so you can set the status to "Archived" as shown below.
This will display all archived team members. Scroll down the list until you find the team member you'd like to unarchive. Next, click the ... options button to the right, then Unarchive Employee.
You'll see a popup window. Enter the team member's email address and click Unarchive.
- if you unarchive a team member they will then be counted as a user in Deputy for billing purposes.
- if you use Deputy HR Documents, any expiry notifications will not have been sent during the period while the team member was archived so please check the team member's documents are up to date in their profile.
How to bulk archive and unarchive team members
If you need to archive or unarchive multiple team members at once you can use the Bulk Action menus on the People page.
Bulk archiving team members
Select the team members you would like to archive using the checkboxes next to their name.
Click on the Bulk Actions dropdown box, then select Archive Team member.
You will see a pop-up box confirming the team members you would like to archive. If there are employees with shifts in the schedule or timesheets then you will need to resolve these first before you can archive the group of team members.
Click Archive Employees when all team members are ready to archive.
Bulk Unarchiving team members
To unarchive multiple team members, go to the People page. Click on the Filters drop-down menu so you can set the status to Archived.
This will display all archived team members. Select the team members you would like to unarchive, then click the Bulk Actions dropdown menu and select Unarchive employees.
In the modal that appears, you will need to enter the team members' email addresses in order for them to log in.
Archiving team members on the Deputy mobile app
Archiving on iOS
To archive team members via the iOS app, tap on the team member's profile and tap Edit Profile. Finally, tap Archive Team member on the Edit Profile screen.
Archiving on Android
To archive team members via the Android app, tap on the team member's profile and tap the ellipsis menu icon on the top right of the screen. Finally, tap Archive team member on the Edit Profile screen.
FAQs
How can I archive all team members at a particular location?
Using the bulk archive tool combined with the filter tool, you can quickly select a specific type of team member to archive.
In this example, we'll be archiving all team members from "The Shell" location. Filter the list on the People page to team members from The Shell, select all team members and click on Bulk Actions> Archive employees. You will then need to resolve the warnings before clicking Archive employees.
What if I want to delete a team member rather than just archive?
Deleting a team member will remove all of their data and can not be restored. Read more at Deleting an Employee's Deputy Account.
I run a seasonal business. What how might I use archiving during off-season?
If your business operates seasonally, you can reduce unnecessary user charges during your off-season by archiving team members before temporarily deactivating your Deputy account.
Before deactivating your account:
- Approve or discard any outstanding timesheets.
- Remove team members from any future scheduled shifts.
- Bulk archive team members who won’t require access during the off-season.
- Keep only a small number of core users active, such as key administrators who may still need account access.
- Deactivate your account when ready.
When your season starts again, you can unarchive returning team members in bulk to restore their access.
Note: Archived team members are also no longer counted toward billing. Deputy will retain their historical information, including past schedules and timesheets, and they can be restored at any time.
Can I archive myself?
No, you can not archive yourself. You will need another System Administrator or Location Manager from your location to archive you.