Set up Managed Areas
This article explains how to use Manage Areas to control which areas a manager can schedule and approve timesheets for in a location.
Before you read
- Target audience: This article is for System Administrators, Location Managers, Advisors, and users with access to manage team member Employment details.
- Plan restrictions: Manage Areas is available on Deputy Pro and Enterprise plans.
This article covers:
- How does Manage Areas work?
- When to use Manage Areas
- How to set up Managed Areas for a team member
- What happens when no areas are selected
How does Manage Areas work?
Manage Area is an advanced setting that gives your organization finer control over which managers can schedule and approve timesheets for specific Areas within a Location.
For example, a manager responsible for the Front of House team in a store can be assigned to manage the Front of House area only. They can schedule shifts and approve timesheets for that area, without being able to manage other areas in the same location.
Note: Manage Areas only applies when the team member's permissions allow them to schedule or approve timesheets. If their permissions already allow them to manage all areas, the Managed Areas setting won't restrict that access.
When should I use Manage Areas?
Use Manage Areas when managers should only schedule or approve timesheets for specific areas within a location.
We recommend using this setting only when it's practical for your organisation to maintain the relationship between managers and their assigned areas.
How do I set up Managed Areas for a team member?
1. Open the team member's profile in the People tab.
2. Open the Employment tab, then click Edit.
3. Click Managed Areas + in the Advanced settings section. The pillbox becomes green when enabled.
4. Use the Add area dropdown to select the areas the team member should be able to schedule and approve timesheets for.
5. Review the selected areas, then click Save.
If the team member has the required permissions, assigning Managed Areas allows them to schedule and approve timesheets for any worker who works in the selected areas, and excludes the other areas.
What happens when no areas are selected?
If no areas are added, Deputy assumes the team member can manage all areas they're assigned to work at.