Getting Started

Bulk updating items allows you to make large changes with less effort.

Please note that Deputy works on a What You See Is What You Get (WYSIWYG) basis, so this function will apply to all shifts that are currently visible.

Bulk Updates

Bulk updates are edits to a number of items in one go. The following is just some of the items that you can update.

  • Start Time
  • End Time
  • Mealbreak
  • Employee
  • Area
  • Comment
  • Publish Status

To access this, navigate to the Schedule tab and click the 'Options' drop-down menu.

A pop-up will appear, allowing you to select one of the options presented above.

Start Time

This will update all the visible start times to the time specified, right down to the minute.

End Time

This option will allow you to change all the viewable shifts and their end time in minute increments.

Mealbreak

This allows you to add a mealbreak to every shift visible, in 15-minute increments.

Employee

Employee allows you to replace the current employee scheduled for a shift to another.

We recommend you utilise the view/hide areas and shifts function to prevent mass shift assigning to a single employee.

Area

This will take all the viewed shifts and place them into an area as specified by you.

Comment

This will add a shift comment to all visible shifts.

Publish Status

Publish status will allow you to bulk update the shift publish status. You can select one of the two following:

  • Not Published
  • Published

WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get)/Alternate Bulk Updates

As mentioned above, Deputy follows a WYSIWYG principle. In this example, all assigned employees assigned to the 'Manager' and 'Bar' area on this roster will need to be removed. First, we will 'hide' the areas that we do not want to edit.

After hiding the areas we do not want to edit, the roster will look like the following:

Now we will click 'Options' and then click 'Remove All Employees'.

A pop-up box will appear to confirm the removal.

After clicking 'Show Area', you will now see that the 'Remove All Employees' function has only affected the visible areas.

Did this answer your question?