If you have created a Location but no longer need it to appear as active in your account you can archive it.
Before you archive a Location
Archiving a Location will save the general Location settings, areas, scheduling and timesheet configurations but not display it as an option to select when scheduling or approving timesheets.
If you have timesheets existing for a Location when you archive that Location:
- you will be asked to approve or discard any that are pending
- timesheets from archived locations can no longer be exported from Timesheets > Export Timesheets
- Reports tab > Report Builder > Timesheets - the timesheets for the archived location will not be included in any report
- unarchiving the location will allow:
- any timesheets for the location to be exported to payroll
- running reports under Reports tab > Report Builder to include timesheet information for the unarchived Locations
Therefore, before you archive a Location you will need to:
- approve or discard any timesheets that are not yet approved
- export any approved timesheets required for payroll
- migrate any team members in that Location to another Location in your Deputy account
- run any timesheet report you may need to generate for that Location
How to archive a Location
1. On Locations, click on Edit Settings for the Location you wish to archive.
2. Click on Archive.
3. If you have timesheets pending, you will be prompted in the popup that follows. Click on the link to go to the Approve Timesheets page and approve or discard the timesheets. You will only be shown the first one. In order to find all outstanding timesheets use the location and date selector to display the outstanding timesheets.
Use the location and date selector to display pending timesheets and Approve or Discard as required.
Don't forget to export the approved timesheets to payroll as needed as they will no longer be able to be exported once you archive the Location.
4. If there are no timesheets pending when you archive your Location you will be asked to migrate any employees associated with the location to another location in your Deputy account.
Select the location you wish to migrate employees to and Click Are you sure you want to archive?
5. Once the Location has been archived, it will no longer appear in the list of locations in:
- the Location page
- the Schedule page
- the Approve or Export Timesheets page
Note: You can restore an archived location if you decide you need the location active again.
Deleting a Location
It is also possible to delete a Location.
IMPORTANT: Deleting a location is an irreversible action. A deleted Location and the related timesheets for that Location can not be restored.
Clicking Delete on a location will permanently delete:
- ALL timesheets associated with the location
- location details
- your location's configuration settings
None of the above can be retrieved once you click Delete.
That's why it's recommended to archive the location rather than delete it, so you can reinstate the location in the future, or access any data associated with it.