<-Back to Employee Details

Contents

Roles

By default, all Deputy accounts begin with 4 basic roles. They have specific permissions that will be outlined in each chapter. With Deputy Enterprise, you can adjust the permissions for these roles, and make new roles with customized permissions and access.

4 default roles:

  • Employee
  • Supervisor
  • Location Manager
  • System Administrator

Staged Permission

The Portfolio Administration permissions are split into two stages:

  • Access -  View details in your organization's portfolio
  • Add, Edit, Delete - Create, make changes to, or even delete details in your organization's portfolio

You will always need to grant a role Access, in order to allow that role to add, edit, or delete. Portfolio Administration is typically restricted to System Administrators.

Permissions for default Roles

Portfolio Administration

  1. Manage Workplaces and Pay Centers
  2. Edit Workplaces
  3. Manage Departments
  4. Manage Employment Terms
  5. Manage Training Requirements
  6. Manage Events
  7. Manage Employee Roles
  8. Manage KPI Reports
  9. Manage Procedures

1. Manage Workplaces and Pay Centers

Access

Allow anyone with this role to manage the workplaces and pay centers within this portfolio including each workplace's position within the portfolio structure. Without this permission, clicking the Locations & Pay Centers tab will result in a blank page. 

Add, Edit, Delete

When “Add, Edit, or Delete” is turned on, this role can make changes to all locations.

The below example shows the Locations tab with and without this permission.

2. Edit Workplaces

Allows users with this role to edit workplaces, similar to the previous permission, but without the ability to add or delete.

  1. Can edit Locations and Location settings. Can't delete or add new Areas.
  2. Can make updates to locations that you are attached to. Can't create a new location or update a location that you are not attached to.

3. Manage Departments

Access enables the Areas of Work tab in the Enterprise tab, where you can organize Areas in hierarchy by selecting its Parent Area.

Below: The options found in the Areas of Work Enterprise tab.

Add, Edit, Delete allows anyone with this role to create and update Areas, without being able to edit Locations. Without this permission, you will not be able to add new Areas, as shown below.

Without the Add, Edit, Delete permission, you will only be able to view the information in the Areas of Work Enterprise tab.

4. Manage Employment Terms

This permission is blue because it's very important. It allows anyone with this role to manage employment related pay details.

Learn more about the pay details included in this permission.

5. Manage Training Requirements

Allow users with this role to manage the training modules available in your portfolio.

Access enables the Training Modules Enterprise tab, as shown below.

Add, Edit, Delete enables the edit button when viewing Training Modules in the Training Requirements Enterprise tab. Without this permissions, the edit button is not available.

6. Manage Events

Add holidays observed by your organization to the schedule. Events can also be used to block time off requests for specified dates. In the below example, Thursday is a Holiday, and so appears pink in the schedule.

7. Manage Employee Roles

This permission is blue because it's very important. It allows roles with this permission to manage all employee Roles in your portfolio. This means that they can create or delete any Role that they see fit, edit the Access Level & Permissions for roles, and rearrange the position of Roles within the management structure.

By default, every Deputy portfolio starts with four roles:

  • System Administrator
  • Manager
  • Supervisor
  • Employee

8. Manage KPI Reports

Allow roles with this permission to access the Reports tab. If this permission is disabled, specific reports can be assigned to roles in the Apps & Reports section of the Access & Permissions Enterprise tab, as shown below.

If the Manage KPI Reports permission is disabled, but reports are assigned in Apps & Reports, you will see the assigned reports only.

9. Manage Procedures

Allow roles with this permission to add, update, and create tasks.

Continue to Global Visibility->

Did this answer your question?