Unavailability

What is unavailability?

Unavailability can be used block your calendar when you are unable to work. When your manager is creating the schedule they will see you are unavailable and know when you are unavailable to work.

Unavailability does not require manager approval so even though your schedule is blocked your manager can override your unavailability and add a shift. If that happens they will get a warning that you have marked yourself as unavailable and you will get a notification that a shift was added.

You should always talk with your manager about adding unavailability and ensure you follow company guidelines or policies. That may include not using unavailability for any type of time off request that requires manager approval such as paid time off, vacation or leave.

Adding unavailability for yourself

You can add unavailability in the Deputy app on your mobile device, on the web or your manager can add unavailability on your behalf.

In the Deputy App

  1. Go to the ‘Me’ tab.
  2. Tap on ‘Unavailability’.
    If you have no unavailability saved the empty unavailability screen. Or if you have unavailability for future dates you will see a list of dates and durations for each unavailability entry. See both screenshots below.
  3. On either of these screens you can tap ‘+’ to add new unavailability.

You can now select dates and repeat options.
Choose from the following options to create unavailability for the time period and frequency that suits your schedule:

  • A single day
  • A time range on a single day
  • A date range
  • Recurring every
  • Week
  • 2 Weeks
  • 4 Weeks
  • Monthly on a day of the week
  • Monthly on a date
  • When you have finished selecting options click ‘Add unavailability’ and you will be returned to the list page which will now include your new unavailability.

On the web

  1. Select your name in the top right of the page and then choose ‘My Profile’ from the list. A panel will slide out from the left of the screen.
  2. Find unavailability and click ‘Add New’. Another panel will slide from the left with the unavailability options.

3. Click on the 'Add' button to create a new unavailability entry.

You can choose from the following options to create unavailability for the time period and frequency that suits your schedule.

  • A single day
  • A time range on a single day
  • A date range
  • Recurring every
  • Week
  • 2 Weeks
  • 4 Weeks
  • Monthly on a day of the week
  • Monthly on a date

When you have finished selecting options click ‘Add’ in the top right of the panel. Your new unavailability will be saved and you will see a list of all your availabilities in date order.

Changing & Deleting unavailability

Unavailability is not editable. To update your unavailability you need to delete any entry that is no longer relevant and create a new unavailability.

On the mobile app

On iPhone

Either:

Swipe left to delete, or

Click on the unavailability and then click delete.

On Android

Long press the unavailability entry then click ‘YES’ to confirm deletion.

On the web

  1. Select your name in the top right of the page and then choose ‘My Profile’ from the list. A panel will slide out from the left of the screen. You will see a heading ‘Unavailability’ and all current unavailability entries listed.
  2. Click the delete icon to delete an unavailability. 
  3. If you don’t see the unavailability you want to delete, click the ‘View All’ button to see your full list of availability and delete from there.

Additional Notes
Only future unavailability is shown in the list views. Unavailability in the past is removed from the list automatically but will still display on the day in past schedules.

Unavailability cannot be added if a shift already exists at the same time of the unavailability. (Including an unpublished shift.)

Did this answer your question?