This guide will show you how to Discard employees, as well as show you the process of Reinstating employees in the case that they return.

Before You Start

If an employee stops working for your organisation (for example, if they resign or you terminate their employment), you can discard their account from the system.

This won't delete the employee, but it does prevent them accessing the system at all and will retain their historical information such as past timesheets and schedules. If you need to you can also reinstate a discarded employee.

NOTE: Before discarding an employee you must remove them from any future scheduled shifts and either approve or discard any past timesheets.

Discarding Employees

After removing the employee from future schedules and resolving past timesheets, please open the People page. Scroll down to the employee, then click "Options" on the right. Please click "Discard".

Reinstating Employees

To reinstate an employee, please go to the People page. First, click "Filter" on the left side, next to the search bar. You'll see a dropdown menu. In the menu, set Status to "Discarded" as shown below.

This will display all discarded employees. Scroll down the list until you find the employee you'd like to reinstate. Next, click "Options" to the right, then "Reinstate".

You'll see a popup window. Give the employee an email address and click "Reinstate".

Bulk Discard and Reinstate Employees

You can now bulk discard and reinstate employees.

Bulk Discarding Employees

First, select the employees you would like to discard using the checkboxes next to their name.

Above the list of names, click the 'Bulk Actions' dropdown box, then select 'Discard Employee'.

You will see a pop-up box confirming the employees you would like to discard. Click 'Discard' to confirm the action.

Bulk Reinstating Employees

First, select 'Filter' at the top of the page, then select 'Discarded' under Status. This will allow you to view your discarded employees.

Then select the employees you would like to reinstate.

Then click the 'Bulk Actions' dropdown menu and select 'Reinstate Employees'.

In the modal that appears, you will need to enter in the employee email address if you would like them to be able to enter/use their Deputy account within your instance. Alternatively, if you do not want them to be able to access your Deputy instance, simply leave the email field blank. When you have done this, click 'Reinstate'.

Discarding Employees Based on Filters

Using the bulk discard tool with the filter tool, you can quickly select a specific type of employee to discard. In this example, we'll be removing all employees from Ocean's Burgers.

First, head to the People page and click the 'Filter' option. Then, select the filter to view your employees in.

This will display all Ocean's Burgers employees. Click the checkbox above all the individual employee checkboxes to select all employees.

Then under the "Bulk Actions" menu, select Discard Employee.

The employees that will be discarded will appear on a list. Depending on how many employees you are discarding, you may need to scroll down to locate the "Discard" button. After you have confirmed the employees to be discarded, click the Discard button.

Did this answer your question?