This guide will show you how to Archive employees, as well as show you the process of Unarchive employees in the case that they return.

Before You Start

If an employee stops working for your organisation (for example, if they resign or you terminate their employment), you can archive their account from the system.

This won't delete the employee, but it does prevent them accessing the system at all and will retain their historical information such as past timesheets and schedules. If you need to you can also unarchive an archived employee.

NOTE: Before archiving an employee you must remove them from any future scheduled shifts and either approve or discard any past timesheets.

Archiving Employees

After removing the employee from future schedules and resolving past timesheets, please open the People page. Scroll down to the employee, then click "Options" on the right. Please click "Archive".

Unarchiving Employees

To unarchive an employee, please go to the People page. First, click "Filter" on the left side, next to the search bar. You'll see a dropdown menu. In the menu, set Status to "Archived" as shown below.

This will display all archived employees. Scroll down the list until you find the employee you'd like to unarchive. Next, click "Options" to the right, then "Unarchive".

You'll see a popup window. Give the employee an email address and click "Unarchive".

Bulk Archive and Unarchive Employees

You can now bulk archive and unarchive employees.

Bulk Archiving Employees

First, select the employees you would like to archive using the checkboxes next to their name.

Above the list of names, click the 'Bulk Actions' dropdown box, then select 'Archive Employee'.

You will see a pop-up box confirming the employees you would like to archive. Click 'Archive' to confirm the action.

Bulk Unarchiving Employees

First, select 'Filter' at the top of the page, then select 'Archived' under Status. This will allow you to view your archived employees.

Then select the employees you would like to unarchive.

Then click the 'Bulk Actions' dropdown menu and select 'Unarchive Employees'.

In the modal that appears, you will need to enter in the employee email address if you would like them to be able to enter/use their Deputy account within your instance. Alternatively, if you do not want them to be able to access your Deputy instance, simply leave the email field blank. When you have done this, click 'Unarchive'.

Archiving Employees Based on Filters

Using the bulk archive tool with the filter tool, you can quickly select a specific type of employee to archive. In this example, we'll be removing all employees from Ocean's Burgers.

First, head to the People page and click the 'Filter' option. Then, select the filter to view your employees in.

This will display all Ocean's Burgers employees. Click the checkbox above all the individual employee checkboxes to select all employees.

Then under the "Bulk Actions" menu, select Archive Employee.

The employees that will be archived will appear on a list. Depending on how many employees you are archiving, you may need to scroll down to locate the "Archive Employee" button. After you have confirmed the employees to be archived, click the Archive button.

Did this answer your question?